‘Dark Night of The Soul’ might never be released. (Stream Album)

So buy the “book + CD-R” & burn the leak?!


The entire Dark Night of The Soul album – the other all-star “Dark/Night” collaboration, which was temporarily shrouded in mystery – is currently streaming over at NPR.  You can listen to it track by track, or play the album straight through.

I would recommend listening to it while the stream is still available, as there seems to be some controversy with EMI as to whether the album will ever be released.  In fact, if you visit the Dark Night of The Soul official website you can order the Dark Night of The Soul photo book, with 100 photographs shot by David Lynch, and it is currently being shipped with a blank CD-R instead of the actual album.

FYI, if the album never sees the light of day there is already a 192kbps leak of the entire album floating around (not to mention web rips galore), and I wouldn’t be surprised if Danger Mouse – who has experience with this kind of thing (see the Grey Album) – decides to leak an even higher quality version of the album, just to “get it out there.”

However, the official DNOTS site does say that the album will see a “Summer 2009” release, so I recommend streaming the album until we find out if downloading the leak and burning it to that CD-R is the only way to “own” it.

Stream: Dark Night of The Soul (entire album) (link)

Tracklist (LaCinta Revision)

1. Revenge (Flaming Lips)
2. Just War (Gruff Rhys of The Super Furry Animals)
3. Jaykub (Jason Lytle)
4. Little Girl (Julian Casablancas of The Strokes)
5. Angel’s Harp (Frank Black of the Pixies) I will delete this song
6. Pain (Iggy Pop) I will also delete this song
7. Star Eyes (I Can’t Catch It) (David Lynch)
8. Everytime I’m With You (Jason Lytle)
9. Insane Lullaby (James Mercer of The Shins)
10. Daddy’s Gone (Mark Linkous of Sparklehorse and Nina Persson of The Cardigans)
11. The Man Who Played God (Suzanne Vega)
12. Grim Augury (Vic Chesnutt)
13. Dark Night of the Soul (David Lynch)

Leave a comment

Filed under Album Leaks, News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s