The LaCinta Guide To Upcoming Leaks: Spring 2009

lacintaleaksguidespring09

April 1st marked the release of “The Pitchfork Guide to Upcoming Releases: Spring 2009.”

In order to honor Pitchfork’s ridiculously detailed guide, I have decided to release my own, slightly “enhanced guide.”

Basically this is the guide to upcoming leaks (releases) that I either care about, or think I am supposed to care about.

I have broken down the leaks into their my own 3 categories:

1. Spring Leaks (that I do care about)

2. Spring Leaks (that will probably disappoint me)

AND

3. Spring Leaks (that I am supposed to care about, but don’t)

I have also included information about the “leak status” of each release, and written a quick mini-blog about “my thoughts” for each release.

Spring Leaks (that I do care about):

Bat for Lashes: Two Suns [Parlophone/Astralwerks]

Leak info: Yes the album has leaked in full quality.

My thoughts: I’ve heard the album but haven’t given it a real careful listen yet.  First impressions were positive.  The first two singles, “Glass” and “Daniel” are both good, and “Glass” was Best New Track’d by Pitchfork so that means that it IS good, right?  (Also, I really liked the Fur and Gold LP).

Camera Obscura: My Maudlin Career [4AD]

Leak Info: Yes it has leaked.

My Thoughts: First few listen tell me that this is a great Camera Obscura album, but maybe I’m just an easy to please Obscura fan.

Cryptacize: Mythomania [Asthmatic Kitty]

Leak Info: Yes.

My Thoughts: Haven’t spent too much time with this band yet, but so far so good.

King Khan and the Shrines: What Is?! [Vice]

Leak Info: Not that I’m aware of.

My Thoughts: King Khan plays for Vice Records.  If you listen to Vice’s fashion advice you should also adhere to their musical advise (at least when it comes to King Khan and Black Lips).

Black Dice: Repo [Paw Tracks]

Leak Info: Yes, leaked.

My Thoughts: I haven’t listened to much Black Dice, even though I have albums of theirs.  I’ve decided to listen to them soon, so I guess I’m excited to hear this album?

Crystal Antlers: Tentacles [Touch & Go]

Leak Info: Yes, leaked.

My Thoughts: Haven’t listened to it yet.  Crystal Antlers can be a little to abrasive for my tastes, but something about them still makes me want to listen.

HEALTH: “Die Slow” 7″ [Lovepump United]

Leak Info: No leak.

My Thoughts: I think this is a new single?  I preferred the remixed Health album last year, so maybe I shouldn’t excited about this 7″.  I think the new LP is just around the corner.

The Juan MaClean: The Future Will Come [DFA]

Leak Info: Yes, leaked.

My Thoughts: Enjoyable, but not priceless.  I haven’t really been into danceable music lately though, so perhaps I’ll like this more in the future.  I really liked last year’s Find A Way EP.

Micachu & the Shapes: Jewellry [Rough Trade]

Leak Info: Yes, the album has leaked.

My Thoughts: I’ve only heard the album once, but I liked what I heard.

Sunset Rubdown: Dragonslayer [Aagoo]

Leak Info: Not leaked yet.

My Thoughts: I loved Random Spirit Lover and Shut Up I Am Dreaming so I hope this lives up to my expectations.

Super Furry Animals: Dark Days/Light Years [Rough Trade]

Leak Info: SFA actually released this album properly: with a digital release and no need for a leak.  Awesome.

My Thoughts: I have had way too much new music to listen to lately, and haven’t spent enough time with a lot of the new albums out there.  This album sounds OK so far… a little more “classic rock” and a little less “Love Kraft” is how it’s feeling.  A couple of the songs are coming across as really irritating at first, shit.
Telepathe: Dance Mother EP [IAMSOUND]

Leak Info: Ummm what is this EP?  The Dance Mother album has leaked already… is a 9 song album an EP?

My Thoughts: Dance Mother is REALLY enjoyable.  Check it out via IAMSOUND.

St. Vincent: Actor [4AD]

Leak Info: Not yet.

My Thoughts: Really excited for this album.  St. Vincent’s LPs have yet to blow me away, but the self-titled single “Actor” is AMAZING.

Cause Co-Motion!: “Because Because Because” 12″ [Slumberland]

Leak Info: No.

My Thoughts: Cause Co-Motion! have been growing on me lately… might just be a fad though.

Lindstrom & Prins Thomas: II [Eskimo]

Leak Info: The LP has leaked.

My Thoughts: I definitely have a soft spot for minimal techno – always look forward to a new album.  I haven’t listend to this one yet though.
Little Girls: “Thrills” 12″ [Mexican Summer]

Leak Info: Don’t think so.

My Thoughts: If Gorilla vs Bear says it’s good should we all go buy the vinyl?

Pantha Du Prince: “Behind the Stars” 12″ [DIAL]

Leak Info: No.

My Thoughts: I really enjoyed Pantha Du Prince’s last LP.

The Field: Yesterday and Today [Anti-/Kompakt]

Leak Info: Not yet.

My Thoughts: Did you hear From Here We Go Sublime?  If you haven’t you really should.

Iron & Wine: Around the Well [Sub Pop]

Leak Info: Not that I’m aware of.

My Thoughts: The Shepard’s Dog is my favorite Iron & Wine (yes, it’s true) so I still expect good things.

Black Moth Super Rainbow: Eating Us [Graveface]

Leak Info: Haven’t seen it yet.

My Thoughts: I absolutely loved Dandelion Gum, and I saw BMSR open for The Flaming Lips and they killed it!

Grizzly Bear: Veckatimest [Warp]

Leak Info: Oh yes, this leaked, and you’ve probably heard it already.

My Thoughts: One of the best albums ever.  And I say that without considering “the hype.”  Honestly, Grizzly Bear is destroying the competition.

Patrick Wolf: The Bachelor [Bloody Chamber Music]

Leak Info: No leak yet.  Just that song about vultures and it’s freaky video.

My Thoughts: I’m really skeptical, but I think there’s some hope for this being better than The Magic Position.

Dirty Projectors: Bitte Orca [Domino]

Leak Info: No leak yet but the wait is exciting, no?

My Thoughts: I never used to be a Dirty Projectors fan, but I’ve totally become one.  And initial reports on their new material is very positive.

White Rabbits: It’s Frightening [TBD]

Leak Info: Not yet.

My Thoughts: Their last LP – Fort Nightly – was decent so this should be at least OK.

Spring Leaks (that will probably disappoint me):


Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band: Outer South [Merge]

Leak Info: No leak, just that first single.

My Thoughts: Judging by the first single, and the “Mystic Valley Band,” this is going to be another disappointing Conor Oberst effort… unless of course you like the country twang.

Peaches: I Feel Cream [XL Recordings]

Leak Info: No leak, some samples and streams available though.

My Thoughts: Based on what I’ve heard so far (really boring electro-ish stuff) and Peaches historical ability to not impress me, I’m going to go ahead and say that I won’t like this album.

Amanda Blank: I Love You [Downtown]

Leak Info: No leak yet.

My Thoughts: This is sort of exciting; Amanda Blank is actually releasing an LP!  Hopefully it’s good (but I’m expecting mediocre).

Au Revoir Simone: Still Light, Still Night [Our Secret Record Company]

Leak Info: Yes, leaked.

My Thoughts: Sounded boring at first, but I still need to give it a better chance.

Polly Scattergood: Polly Scattergood [Mute]

Leak Info: Leaked.

My Thoughts: Pretty sure the best thing to come from Polly are those Golden Filter remixes.  I really don’t like this album.

Mika Miko: We Be Xuxa [PPM]

Leak Info: Not sure.

My Thoughts: I probably shouldn’t be anticipating this (because I’ve never heard this band before) but for some reason I’m keen to hear it.

Phoenix: Kitsune Tabloid [Kitsune]

Leak Info: Don’t think so.

My Thoughts: I don’t think I get “Kitsune”…

Sebastien Tellier: Reworked by Strangelets 12″ [Supersoul]

Leak Info: Don’t think so.

My Thoughts: WTF is this? (Apparently too lazy to check…)

The Boy Least Likely To: The Law of the Playground [+1 Records] [physical release, out now digitally]

Leak Info: Already released digitally.  Also, I think I can leaked previously.

My Thoughts: Not particularly interesting, at all.  I think their last LP was a “novelty masterpiece.”

Death Cab for Cutie: The Open Door EP [Atlantic]

Leak Info: I think this went straight to the iTunes store.

My Thoughts: I don’t currently have a place in my heart for Benjamen Deschanel.

Metric: Fantasies [Metric Music International]

Leak Info: Yes this leaked, and it’s out digitally now.

My Thoughts: I didn’t make it all the way through on my first attempt.  I will try again at a later date, maybe.

Papercuts: You Can Have What You Want [Gnomonsong/Memphis Industries]

Leak Info: Yah it leaked.

My Thoughts: I haven’t listened to it.  I think Papercuts are OK but not that exciting.

Art Brut: Art Brut vs. Satan [Cooking Vinyl/Downtown]

Leak Info: Leaked.

My Thoughts: Read my record review here.  It’s titled “am I still supposed to like Art Brut.”

Phoenix: Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix [Glassnote/Loyaute]

Leak Info: Totally leaked.

My Thoughts: This is my initial impression.  Basically I compared them to Hot Hot Heat, ouch!

Passion Pit: Manners [Frenchkiss]

Leak Info: No leak yet.

My Thoughts: I really liked their EP last year, but I’m not too into the first single off their debut LP, so my expectations are very low.

Foreign Born: Person to Person [Secretly Canadian]

Leak Info: It has not leaked.

My Thoughts: I think I heard Edward Droste promoting this band so I feel like I should be excited.

Fleet Foxes: “Mykonos” b/w “False Knight on the Road” 7″ [Sub Pop]

Leak Info: Don’t think so.

My Thoughts: Wait, is “False Knight” a new Fleet Foxes’s song?  If it is I am totally excited.

Spring Releases (that I am supposed to care about, but don’t):


Empire of the Sun: Walking on a Dream [Astralwerks]

Leak Info: Why is this listed in the Pitchfork Guide?

My Thoughts: Wasn’t this released in 2008?

Arcade Fire: Miroir Noir DVD

Leak info: Ummm.. I think this film (not album) leaked pre-Funeral (joking), but yes, it has leaked.

My Thoughts: I haven’t watched it yet… and I’m typically not very excited about band films.

Apostle of Hustle: Eats Darkness [Arts&Crafts]

Leak Info: Nope.

My Thoughts: I know I’m supposed to be interested in the band because their part of the Broken Social Scene (who I do enjoy) family, but I’m not interested.

Beastie Boys: Check Your Head [reissue]

Leak Info: Yes it has leaked (although I’m not sure about quality), but does that even matter?  You already have this album.
My Thoughts: The Beastie Boys totally pissed me off when I saw them live (twice) and they didn’t play a single song from any of their first 3 albums SO I DON”T CARE ABOUT THIS Re-Issue/EMI money making scheme.

The Hold Steady: A Positive Rage [Vagrant]

Leak Info: Indeed it leaked.

My Thoughts: Not a fan of the band OR of live CD/DVDs.

Junior Boys: Begone Dull Care [Domino]

Leak Info: It has leaked.

My Thoughts: I know I’m supposed to love and appreciate this band, but I don’t (and now I feel like I should try again, sigh).

The Thermals: Now We Can See [Kill Rock Stars]

Leak Info: Leaked.

My Thoughts: I guess this band is OK, but I’m just not that enthusiastic about it.

Ida Maria: Fortress Round My Heart [Mercury/Fontana]

Leak Info: It’s for sale now.  But I think it leaked earlier.

My Thoughts: I don’t think I like Ida Maria…

Mt. Eerie: Live in Copenhagen [Burnt Toast Vinyl]

Leak Info: Don’t think so.

My Thoughts: I really haven’t listened to Mt. Eerie much, but this is a live 3xLP ??!!! WTF.

Björk: Voltaic [One Little Indian]

Leak Info: Ummmm….

My Thoughts: I love Bjork (and she’s fantastic live) but a box set?

Okkervil River: Pop Lie EP [Jagjaguwar]

Leak Info: No leak.

My Thoughts: Not a fan.

Bloc Party: “Signs (Armand Van Helden remix)” single [Wichita]

Leak Info: Couldn’t say.

My Thoughts: I guess “Signs” was kind of cool?  Bloc Party died a long time ago (it’s sad but true).

Hot Chip: Bugged Out Mix [New State]

Leak Info: I don’t know.

My Thoughts: Am I the only person who doesn’t like this band?

Magik Markers: Balf Quarry [Drag City]

Leak Info: No leak as of today.

My Thoughts: I remember not liking this band.
Pink Mountaintops: Outside Love [Jagjaguwar]

Leak Info: Yes, leaked.

My Thoughts: I also remember not liking this band.

Starf_cker: Jupiter [Badman Recording Co.]

Leak Info: No leak.

My Thoughts: I just wanted to include this because The Last Starfigther is an amazing film and I presume that’s where the name “Starfucker” came from.

Bloc Party: Intimacy Remixed [Wichita]

Leak Info: Whatever.

My Thoughts: Blah.

Iggy Pop: Preliminaries [Astralwerks]

Leak Info:

My Thoughts: Seriously?  More new Iggy Pop?

Lil Wayne: Rebirth [Cash Money]

Leak Info: Maybe leak, not confirmed.

My Thoughts: I don’t like Lil Wayne.

Tiny Masters of Today: Skeletons [Mute]

Leak Info:

My Thoughts: I’m not interested these tweens (possibly just to spite Karen O – who appeared on one of their old tracks – for not making It’s Blitz! the album I was hoping for).

Wilco: TBA [Nonesuch]

Leak Info: Not yet but I’m sure we’ll hear about it when it happens.

My Thoughts: Not a Wilco fan, too boring (hahaha, I called Wilco boring).  I’m sure fans are dying for a new LP though.

Eminem: Relapse 2 [Shady/Aftermath/Interscope]

Leak Info: Nope.

My Thoughts: A lot of people are probably excited about this.

The Jesus Lizard: Pure [Touch and Go]
The Jesus Lizard: Head[Touch and Go]
The Jesus Lizard: Goat [Touch and Go]
The Jesus Lizard: Liar [Touch and Go]
The Jesus Lizard: Down[Touch and Go]

Leak Info: Reissues…

My Thoughts: I don’t get the Jesus Lizard.

Sunn O))) SunnMonoliths & Dimensions [Southern Lord]

Leak Info: Not yet leaked.

My Thoughts: I guess this drone-metal business (are they even drone-metal?) is sort of neat, but I don’t like it.

3 Comments

Filed under LaCinta Exclusive

3 responses to “The LaCinta Guide To Upcoming Leaks: Spring 2009

  1. jake

    OK that’s just waaaay too long to read

  2. Ashli

    Conor Oberst and the Mystic Valley Band:
    I saw them live last year in Vancouver, and they put on an amazing show. I have been so disappointed with his last 2 albums, but he goes back to his roots with this one.
    Really good.

  3. connor

    it might be a conditioned response but i liked C.O.’s first release and there’s some good tracks on the new one.

    i agreed with a lot of your reviews though.

Leave a Reply

