somebody needs to break Conor Oberst’s heart ASAP! (stream new song)

oberst

I’ve said it so many times before: Conor Oberst makes his best music when he’s totally despondent, or at least when he appears to be.  I don’t know, maybe he is still sad and just dealing with it better (via Xanax), but it doesn’t matter.  All that matters is that he take a page from his own history, circa 2002-2005; back when he made painfully brilliant records like Lifted or the Story is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground (2002) and I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning (2005).

It’s not that I hate country music (actually it’s totally that I hate country music) but everything that Oberst has done from Casadaga (2007) forward… well I just can’t relate to it.

So why am I revisiting this painful topic?  Well it’s because Conor Oberst & The Mystic Valley Band just started streaming a new song from their forthcoming LP Outer South.  And yes, it’s another unfortunately upbeat indie-country-rock song.

Stream the new song “Slowly (Oh So Slowly)” at Conor’s website.

Now, I think I need to buy a new pair of Bright Eyes Sunglasses to shade me from the musician that Conor Oberst has become.

be-logo1_300x3731

Leave a comment

Filed under Songs

Leave a Reply

