LaCinta: 20 Most Disappointing LPs 2008

lacintalogo08disappoint

This is a list of the 20 LPs that disappointed me the most in 2008.  They are not all bad albums (although some of them most certainly are) rather they are albums that I had much higher expectations for.  All of these albums made me a little bit sad the first time I listened to them.

The only thing worse than getting a new album and hating it, is getting a new album from a musician you love, and hating it.

I was going to include pictures of the album covers, but I thought that might accidentally entice people to download/buy the albums.  These are NOT albums that I would recommend spending your hard earned $$$ on.

20. Studio – Yearbook 2

I don’t think this album was bad.  But I loved Yearbook 1 (2007) so much that pretty much anything that followed was destined to be somewhat of a letdown.

19. Pop Levi – Never Never Love

I don’t think I had big hopes for this album.  The Return to Form Black Magick Party (2007) was decent.  Guess I was just hoping for some more.
18. Kanye West – 808s and Heartbreak

I mean realistically I didn’t expect this album to be any good.  I’ve never liked Kanye, and I probably never will.  I do like “Love Lockdown”… so I guess a little bit of me was just hoping that Kanye would finally make an album I enjoyed.

17. White Denim – Exposion

I was really into some of their previous songs.  I just can’t seem to get into this new album.

16. Chris Walla – Field Manual

I actually started laughing when I put this album on.  And I never put it on again.  It was like hearing Chris Walla trying to do Death Cab unplugged, and attempting to mimic Ben Gibbard’s voice, and singing about politics instead of love.  I think the best thing about this album was that stupid drama about having it confiscated at the Canada/USA border.  Also, Tegan & Sarah were totally better before Chris Walla straightened them out.

15. Deerhoof – Offend Maggie

I should probably give this album a few more listens.  But it just feels like no new Deerhoof will ever compare to the love I feel for The Runners Four (2005).

14. Foals – Antidotes

I actually can’t even remember liking a Foals song.  I must have gotten caught up in all the blog hype and decided the Foals were going to make a good album.

13. Ladytron – Velocifero

I think this album was OK, but it just was not the same as Witching Hour (2005)… or maybe it was too much the same.

12. Wolf Parade – At Mount Zoomer

I haven’t really given this album a chance yet.  I was just so instantly thrilled with their previous LP, and with Sunset Rubdown’s LPs, that when I didn’t instantly love this album I just decided not to give it a chance.

11. Black Moth Super Rainbow – Drippers

Dandelion Bubblegum (2007) was phenomenal.  I saw BMSR open for The Flaming Lips and it was an incredible show.  Somehow BMSR’s music synced perfectly with a Richard Simon’s workout video.  Drippers does not live up to my expectations of Black Moth Super Rainbow.

10. Danielson – Trying Hartz

I’m not sure so if I didn’t like this album.  But I didn’t like it anywhere near as much as I loved Ships (2006), and thus I never seem to listen to it.

9. Fujiya and Miyagi – Lightbulbs

I absolutely love Transparent Things (2006).  Some of that amazing groove is audible on Lightbulbs, but it just falls flat of what I want to hear.

8. Broken Social Scene Presents: Brendan Canning

Ugh.  Kevin Drew’s solo album was awesome.  This album is kind of the same, except it’s totally not awesome.

7. Conor Oberst – s/t

Dammit I keep saying this over and over and over again.  WTF did Conor Oberst get all bloody cheery and move to the country!?  Somebody needs to break this kids heart again so he can go back to making emotionally painful Bright Eyes songs.  All I can hear in this album are references to Tom Petty, Bruce Springsteen, Tom Cochrane, and a variety of other classic rockers… it’s not what I want to her Conor doing.

6. Black Kids – Partie Traumatic

How did Black Kids go from such an awesome 4 song EP – Wizard of Ahhhs (2007) – to this terrible album.  Oh I know! They signed to a major label and put out an LP before they were ready.  But don’t worry about it, Columbia’s marketing budget will pick up the slack.

5. Sebastian Grainger & The Mountains – s/t

How did half of Death From Above 1979 end up making this album!? Forget your differences Sebastian, I would HIGHLY advise you stuck to making music with Jesse Keeler – at least Jesse’s little side project MSTRKRFT is listenable.

4. The Brian Jonestown Massacre –  My Bloody Underground

Am I the only one that thinks Anton Newcombe either needs to quit making music, or starting using heroin again???

3. Toyko Police Club- Elephant Shell

This album is just way too emo and lame and boring for me.  I first heard Tokyo Police Club live way back sometime ago, and for some reason I decided that their debut LP wouldn’t suck as much as it did.  In hindsight, I probably should have seen this coming – TKP come from the same little Canadian city as one of my ex-GFs! Zing! Hahahahahahaha.

2. Of Montreal – Skeletal Lamping

I almost vomited when I heard this album.  Hissing Fauna, Are You the Destroyer (2007) was a great album.  Skeletal Lamping is not.  Of Montreal went ‘over the top’ and they forgot to bring everything I love about them, and instead brought everything that I hate about them.  I cannot relate to Kevin Barnes pretending to be a middle-aged-transsexual-black-man, or whatever the fuck the premise of this album is.  Judging by accounts of recent live performances I think Of Monreal has totally lost it.

1. Islands – Arm’s Way

This almost brings tears to my eyes.  How does one of The Unicorn’s make an album that I can’t even listen to without wanting to turn it off/fall asleep.  So dissappointed.  I want The Unicorn’s to find one more breath and come out of extinction… I want this so badly that I’m going to brush up on my chemistry and go all Jurrasic Park science on The Unicorns.

Leave a comment

Filed under LaCinta Exclusive

Leave a Reply

