WTF!? Did Kanye get Heartbroken by a man!? Love Lockdown video premiered on The Ellen DeGeneres Show this morning; rumors swirl about Kanye creating the Kanye and Ellen Show in replacement of Kanye’s recently canceled The Black Curb Your Enthusiasm.

This originality and bizarreness of Kanye premiering his video on Ellen could only mean one thing, he either wants to come out of the closet (see change from hip-hop to 80s synth/vocoder powered love ballots) or he’s after Ellen’s demographic.  And I have no idea what Ellen’s demographic is… is it ex-Ellen sitcom fans? or lesbians? or grandmas?  It’s probably just middle-aged women… 700+ episodes of Ellen and I just keep forgetting to tune in… (Who do you think writes the Wikipedia page for shows like this?  Is it fans, or TV Producers?)

So here’s the Love Lockdown video.  They actually use the Ellen intro and outro for the “Official” YouTube video… do you think they’ll use it on MTV…? Actually I guess YouTube must just be where people watch music videos now, am I right?  Do they play music videos on MTV anymore?  Do people watch Pitchfork.tv even though it has a very limited selection in videos?

I really feel like Kanye’s pants should be more white, like match the jacket white. Don’t you?  It kind of distracted me the whole time.  That, and I’m not sure if it’s just YouTube… but the contrast between blacks and whites (I mean colors, not people) didn’t seem contrasty enough.  Like the whites just weren’t white enough.

Anyhow, I should probably stop writing about Kanye, because I still don’t like him.  He just always does and/or says something that I somehow feel compelled to discuss.  It’s probably just his hype machine successfully tricking me into waiting to hear 808s and Heartbreaks.  I’m just so inexplicably  curious to see if the album is a healthy change from the last three.

Listening to Now: The Dodos Visiter (2008). This album is totally awesome, BTW.

1 Comment

Filed under wtf

One response to “WTF!? Did Kanye get Heartbroken by a man!? Love Lockdown video premiered on The Ellen DeGeneres Show this morning; rumors swirl about Kanye creating the Kanye and Ellen Show in replacement of Kanye’s recently canceled The Black Curb Your Enthusiasm.

  1. Damian Blueeyes

    “we’re sorry, this video is no longer available”
    I’m totally not impressed…

Leave a comment