Hurray! After 20 minutes of discouraging “surfing,” LaCinta discovers something worth blogging about: \\\A//N/I/M/A/L\\\C//O/L/L/E/C/T/I/V/E\\\ = LaCinta <3 animal collective = new album!!!

Let’s all go to my animal home.  I’ve been listening to the sweet sounds and video on this site forever now…but it’s starting to get to me.  I just keep hoping that there’s a hidden track eventually.  Let me know if you find one!

I heard rumours earlier in the year that a new album was already in the works, and I believe in an interview at the Pitchfork Indie Fest the Animal Collective mentioned using some of Panda Bear’s sampling techniques for the new material.

A hybrid of Panda Bear solo + Animal Collective could not be a bad thing.

It took awhile to decipher the scribly text, but I believe the album will be called Merriweather Post Pavilion and be released in January 2009.

I totally thought the AC was going to release a new album late 2008, and sneak in there and steal the Pitchfork’s #1 album for ’08 spot, but I guess they have a heart after all…

Who’s going to win this year though?  I think I’m a little less enthused on Pitchfork’s recommendations this year…  Definitely some of my top picks this year will not have been Best New Music or Recommended. I don’t think Pitchfork lets you dive back into their recommended lists anymore – maybe in an effort to keep their favorites slightly more secret – so I can barely even remember what’s been recommended…  but I know there’s been quite a few that I don’t like.  Maybe I should start taking recommendations from Rolling Stone instead, or start listening exclusively to BlogHouse remixes – what do you think?

Here’s a private/live performance by Avey Tare and Kria Brekkan (Avey’s wife) of “The Purple Bottle,” one of my favorite Animal Collective songs, from the Feels LP (2005).

Avey’s not so perfect screams near the end make me laugh, but I love this song.

Listening to Now: The Week That Was The Week That Was (2008).  Not sure if I’m sold on this yet…

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

